Professional Affairs

Overview (Constitutional Guidelines for PAC)

The Vice-President for Professional Affairs shall be chairperson of the Professional Affairs Committee. The chair shall keep the Association informed in all professional affairs affecting the practice, including teaching, research, training and certification in neuropathology. Subject to the wishes of the President, the chair may represent the Association at meetings with representatives of other organizations, public or private, in the pursuit of information pertaining to professional affairs. The members of the Professional Affairs Committee shall be licensed to practice medicine and shall be actively engaged in the practice of neuropathology. Members of the Professional Affairs Committee, including its Chairperson, may serve as such for up to five years.

Frequently asked questions about Maintenance of Certification (MOC) and results of Member Surveys may be found here.

Operational Guidelines of the AANP Professional Affairs Committee  

AANP Supports Prion Center (2017)

The AANP wrote a letter supporting the application of the National Prion Disease Pathology Surveillance Center for continued funding from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  A copy is available here.

Current Members of the Professional Affairs Committee

Eyas Hattab, MD, MBA - Chair (2021 - 2026)
Nelli Lakis, MD (2020 - 2025)
Sonika Dahiya, MD (2022 - 2027)
Marie Rivera-Zengotita, MD (2022 - 2027)
David Meredith, MD, PhD (2023 - 2028)
Hsiang-Chih Lu, MD, PhD (2023 - 2028)
Nima Sharifai, MD, PhD (2023 - 2028)
Ekin Guney, MD* (2022 - 2024)
*Junior Member